Link Broken between Scrivener Documents and Program

wi
wilcoxrc
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:04 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Jun 15, 2018 5:01 am Post

I performed a much needed file clean on my computer today and moved my main file tree, (long story as to why it needed to be moved), and now realize that I cannot open my Scrivener documents because of having moved them. Can anyone tell me how to get the documents to shake hands with the program again?

Thanks,

Rob

wi
wilcoxrc
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:04 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Jun 15, 2018 5:17 am Post

I kept searching and found the answer. Should have searched more before posting. Just a matter of unchecking the "read only" box in the file properties pop-up.

Ma
Major Major
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:52 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Oakville, ON Canada

Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:10 pm Post

If ever two things seemed unconnected, that's them.

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272 (CN97au)
Contact:

Sat Jun 16, 2018 9:12 am Post

If the containing folder was read-only and that setting inherited down to all of the files in the project, it makes complete sense. When you open a Scrivener project, several files get updated even if you change no content.
--
Devin L. Ganger, WA7DLG
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Winner "Best in Class", 2018 My First Supervillain Photo Shoot