Remove Current Revision Color fail

Jo
Joy Livingwell
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:11 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Earth, Sol system, western spiral arm of Milky Way galaxy, universe
Contact:

Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:51 pm Post

Remove Current Revision Color is not working as described in the manual.

If it works at all, which it mostly doesn't, it only removes the revision color in the first document open in the editor, and then sometimes only in text before the cursor position. Most of the time it doesn't seem to recognize revision text.

I thought maybe something was wrong with my project, so I created a new one and ran some tests. Same problems. Ideas?

MacOS 10.10.5 Yosemite
Scrivener 2.8.1.2
I was going to procrastinate, but decided to put it off a while longer...

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 21318
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:18 pm Post

I cannot on first attempt reproduce the problem. I created a fresh copy of the tutorial and split the introductory document into three chunks, selected them all and set the view mode to Scrivenings (I presume this is the condition you are describing when you say only the first document works). I set the revision level to One. I then selected three words, one in each chunk, and used the Format ▸ Revision Mode ▸ Mark Revised command to set them to red. Going by your description, I put the cursor after the second marked word and use the Format ▸ Revision Mode ▸ Remove Current Revision Color menu command. All three instances were stripped out and the text returned to black.

I would double check that the colours are correct. Use the Edit ▸ Find ▸ Find by Formatting... menu command, set the find mode to “Revision Color”, and select the colour associated with the level you are trying to remove. If you walk through the document with the “Next” button, are all instances matched?
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

Jo
Joy Livingwell
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:11 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Earth, Sol system, western spiral arm of Milky Way galaxy, universe
Contact:

Wed Apr 18, 2018 3:40 pm Post

Yes. That was how I ended up manually stripped out the colors. Using an Automator workflow, naturally. ;-)

Scrivener basically ALWAYS does what it should, so I'm puzzled to say the least. Hmm, I should try reproducing the problem on another machine & macOS version...
I was going to procrastinate, but decided to put it off a while longer...

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 21318
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:47 pm Post

The macOS version might matter—when we were testing version 3, we found that revision colours that had been set a long while ago sometimes wouldn’t register (but in that case, even with Find by Formatting) as being that colour. It turned out that on older Macs a different colour profile was being used by default (Display RGB vs something or other, I don’t recall at the moment), and given how RGB info is stored in the text file, it was causing these colours to be slightly wrong.

So maybe if you’ve got multiple Macs going on with different versions, test from that angle and see if the problem happens more often when marking things on one machine and trying to strip them on another. I’d still expect the format finder to fail as well if that’s the case, but it’s worth a look.

Unfortunately I cannot test your scenario precisely as I no longer have a 10.10 installation. I was testing with 10.12.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

Jo
Joy Livingwell
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:11 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Earth, Sol system, western spiral arm of Milky Way galaxy, universe
Contact:

Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:08 am Post

I've been passing the original project I noticed the problem with back and forth between a Mac running Yosemite (10.10) and another running 10.6 Snow Leopard. But I don't see how that could have caused this problem, because my test was to create a NEW project, and apply revision colors to NEW text. Scrivener still didn't find and strip out all instances of those revision colors, even though I had just created them moments before. Weird.
I was going to procrastinate, but decided to put it off a while longer...

User avatar
shrumpkin
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 7:24 pm

Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:36 pm Post

I too have had this problem, and Amber is correct in mentioning older OS versions, since I had added the revision colors while running an older version of the OS. The revision colors wouldn't strip.